Setting up in Italo

If it seems that my posts on this blog could be a little more frequent than they are, I can only explain that right now I am in the throes of preparing for the next academic year – I teach in Adult Education, and stuff like course information has to be done this early in readiness for September – and at the same time we’ve hit the peak of the Morris season.  Which means that I am spending most of my weekends dancing in exotic places like, umm, Horsham and Whitstable.  Which all, obviously, cuts into the amount of time I can spend on wargaming.

However, all that will pass.  And I haven’t entirely stopped gaming activity. by any means.  The assembly line rumbles on, if a tad slower than usual, the painting queue grows ever longer.  And there is much planning going on, if only inside my head.

One area in which I am still making some significant progress is the aforementioned “imagi-nations” campaign that will utilise my Early Italian Wars miniatures, between the fictional city states of Metuso and Venola.  In a remarkable leap of imagination (not), the whole thing has become placed in an area known as Italo, hence the Italic Peninsula.  Hence while it’s starting in the north of said peninsula, that gives me scope to expand things further southwards if I feel like it in future.

Anyway, here’s the campaign map as I’ve drawn it thus far: Italo map007

It’s in fairly simple form as yet, my concept is that more detail will be drawn in as areas are involved in campaign activity.

I’ve also made a start on creating characters to inhabit this new world.  Given the nature of 15th century society, it’s the aristocracy who hold all the influence and so it’s the aristocracy who get the character profiles, though it’s entirely possible other characters are going to pop up from time to time.  However, for the moment I’m concentrating on the ruling family, and a couple of lesser noble families, for each of the towns and cities shown on the map.  They’ll be making an appearance on this blog as a kind of “Who’s Who in Italo”, as the campaign continues to develop.

wrg-setting-up-a-wargames-campaign-by-tony-bath-2nd-edition-2832-p

I’ll explain here, just briefly, that the rules I use for these kind of extended campaigns are largely based on Tony Bath’s book, Setting Up a Wargames Campaign, which was in turn based on his own vast and long-running Hyboria campaign.  They’ve stood me in good stead over the years, but while going through the process of character generation I am trying to think of alternative (and probably more complicated!) approaches that will cut out the need for the gamer to intervene quite so much to turn dice rolls into realistic personality traits.

For this weekend, however, I have my dancing boots on again.  As somebody once said, “I’ll be back”.

Leave a Reply

