Down among the modelmakers

A couple of Saturdays ago I paid a visit to the Royal Engineers Museum in Brompton, enticed there by news of an exhibition of automata (rather off-topic for this blog, but something that fascinates me), and a modelmakers’ show.

I was a little pressed for time on the day, so I didn’t really look much at the general museum displays – I’ll have to go again to do that.  Which will be made easier by the entrance ticket being turned into an annual pass through the simple trick of gift-aiding it.  Nice idea.  So, anyway, I had a quick dash through the various galleries to get where I needed to be, checked out the automata (and yes, I played with all of them),  then found the modelling show.

I have mixed feelings about modelling shows in general.  On the one hand, I admire the skill that goes into creating such miniature masterpieces.  Don’t be fooled into thinking that it’s a simple matter of gluing a few bits of plastic together.  These people are really, really good at what they do.  On the other hand, that leaves me feeling a bit of a failure when I compare what they are capable of with what I can manage in terms of modelmaking.  As usual, I came away from this show with the distinct impression that I definitely need to up my game, so to speak.

I wandered around the tables for about half an hour, even admiring the model cars (definitely not my thing, but…), and managed not to buy anything from the handful of trade stands present.

Then, tucked away in a corner of the hall, I found the wargamers.  Just the one game, a WW2 Eastern Front scenario being run by a few members of Medway Wargames Society.  It was well done, was modelled skilfully enough to avoid any sniffy remarks (I would hope) from the modelmakers, and MWS seem a friendly bunch.  Apparently they were planning to play an Ancients game on the Sunday.  Keeping things varied, there!

A few photos, here, of the WW2 game in progress…

Leave a Reply

